In Vain..

The month of May has just started and we were anticipating more of the sun’s fury, as likewise informed by our ever reliable PAGASA (?). Come May 1, a local holiday here in the Philippines, it was announced that we were to experience the hottest temperature to date, since January. And it was absolutely parching when me and my friends went outside to buy a can of Coke. We ran, no, we dashed to get to the nearest drugstore as we were literally roasting the minute we stepped out of the building. The can of coke was icy cold, and it was a a huge relief. I rolled the can over my head, my cheeks and my neck, feeling its coolness drench my sweat glands for a second. And then we dashed back in to the office, like we were running for our lives. Then the next thing we knew, the sun was no longer there and fell humongous droplets of rain from the then-black grey sky. It seemed angry, and it gave us a terrible downpour. Everything was blacker than anything else since then…

My boyfriend has not texted nor called me since last night. I’ve tried calling him probably thirty times in a row but his line was out of coverage. I was already anxious ‘coz he wasn’t also online. I thought he might have been charging his phone. It was raining really hard and lightnings were visible through my curtained windows. Power outage was also an option so I tried to calm down. I knew he was just at home and there was nothing to be worried about. I gushed myself for a bit on my favorite tv drama, let half an hour pass. I reached again for my phone and dialed, praying while waiting on the other line to just let it ring, just one ring and I could breathe. It rang, one, twice, thrice, and he cut it. That’s the usual move. He would cut my calls and call me back. However, he didnt. So I dialed again, another ring was heard and was cut again. Still, no return calls. I thought he might be having a hard time connecting, like before. Especially with the bad weather. I waited, yet again and  there was none. Just me, staring at my phone, waiting for a message that could have said “I couldn’t reach you”. That would have been better, at least. But there was nothing. I sent four or five messages, I said I miss him. We were supposed to go out today, but because of the awful weather, I wasn’t permitted to go. There was also flood on the streets already. It hurt me that I wouldn’t be seeing him for another week. And now this. The only communication we have when we’re not together, and it’s giving me a headache. He knew how I feel when I get worried. I cry, I cry really hard and bad thoughts creep up into my head. And then I’d cry harder, and he’s still not texting me. I haven’t even slept right the whole night due to power failure and I was thinking what was happening to him. I have no idea what was and is going on. And I am still waiting. I’ll probably be waiting all day..

 

Leave a Reply

